Journalist prize to Ronald Fagerfjäll


In the Notice of Ratos's Annual General Meeting published today, it was announced that this year's SEK 150,000 Söderberg Journalist Prize for Economics is to be awarded to Ronald Fagerfjäll, formerly editor-in-chief of the Affärsvärlden business magazine. The jury's citation states "journalism which is always characterised by tremendous knowledge and a sound balance."
The Söderberg Journalist Prize is awarded by the Torsten and Ragnar Söderberg foundations. The foundations - which is the major shareholder in Ratos - make significant donations, primarily to economics, medical and legal research. In addition, four prizes are awarded every year: the Söderberg Prize for Medicine, the Söderberg Business Prize, Torsten and Wanja Söderberg's prize to promote handicrafts and design in the Nordic countries and the Söderberg Journalist Prize. Previous recipients of the Söderberg Journalist Prize for Economics include Göran Albinsson Bruhner, Svante Nycander, Nils-Eric Sandberg, Anders Isacsson and Per T Ohlsson.

The foundations have distributed approximately SEK 750m in grants and prizes during the year.

Annual General Meeting 2002
The Annual General Meeting will be held at 5.30 p.m. on Wednesday, 10 April in Berwaldhallen, Dag Hammarskjölds väg 3, Stockholm. The complete notice to the annual general meeting can be accessed at . Complete documentation for the Annual General Meeting will be available from 27 March at Ratos's head office, Drottninggatan 2 in Stockholm and at

Board of Directors
Re-election is proposed of Board members Olof Stenhammar (Chairman), Lars Berg, Peggy Bruzelius, Göran Grosskopf, Arne Karlsson (CEO), Jan Söderberg and Per-Olof Söderberg. Harry Faulkner and Göran Lindahl have both declined re-election. Shareholders representing approximately 75% of the voting rights in the company support this proposal. The number of members of Ratos's Board will thus be reduced from the current nine to seven.

Proposed dividend SEK 6.25
The Board proposes a dividend of SEK 6.25 per share (5.50).

Share buy-back
The Board of Directors proposes that the Annual General Meeting gives the Board a mandate to decide, during the period until the next Annual General Meeting, on repurchase of a maximum number of shares so that the company's holding at any time does not exceed 7% of all the shares in the company. The purpose of the buy-back is to give the Board more room for manoeuvre in its work to create value for the company's shareholders.

Incentive programme
The Board proposes a decision to issue a maximum of 550,000 call options on repurchased Ratos shares to be transferred at a market premium to a maximum of 20 key employees at Ratos. It is further proposed that the AGM decides on a transfer of a maximum of 550,000 shares in the company when the above-mentioned options are exercised.

For further information, please contact
Olof Stenhammar, Chairman of Ratos, +46 8 405 66 42
Arne Karlsson, CEO, +46 8 700 17 00